Thursday, October 29, 2009

The Latest.

So, after reading my friends blogs where they keep everyone updated about the super cute things their babies are doing, I figured I needed to add my two cents. Monkey is doing great! He gives hugs (unless he's upset with me, then when I ask him for a hug he says in his little voice "no." It's very short and clipped, but sooo cute). He also gives kisses, real kisses. He started out just giving us his cheek so that we could kiss him, then Jorellech and Squeaky's mom bribed him with candy to give kisses (hooray for aunts!) which worked really well. So he evolved to kissing on the lips with his mouth wide open. Very slobbery, but oh-so-cute. He now gives the cutest little kisses ever. They're as cute as he is. :)
We're excited for Halloween. I'll be sure to take lots of pictures tomorrow for the pumpkin massacre, I mean carving.
Monkey is doing really well with Squeaky. He'll pat him softly on the head and give him kisses, too, though sometimes he says "down!" when I'm holding squeaky. Usually, though, he's content if whoever is holding Squeaky holds him too.
Hockey is going great. We had a lot of fun at the game last night, playing against a team that was at our level (last week it was a team a level above us and we got whompped).
Well, I can't think of anything else of interest to add, so I guess I'll leave it at this.

Wednesday, October 14, 2009

Updating Blog

This is a post for the sake of having a post. (Can't stand not updating my blog for more than a month).
Monkey is doing great, he can say so many words now! I had hockey practice on Monday and as Hubby had to work late I had to take Monkey with me (there is a babysitter there). The first time he did really well there, but since his new cousin, Squeaky, was born he has been super clingy. Needless to say he had a rough time.
In fact, the day after Squeaky was born we went to visit them in the hospital and Hubby gave Monkey to Jorellech to hold (she's so proud of all her nephews, we've got a totally cute picture of them all togather...hmmmm, maybe i'll upload it) while he held Squeaky. As soon as Monkey realized his father was two timeing on him, he got down from Jorellech's arms (he LOVES Jorellech) and clung to daddy's pants until he picked him up. Monkey didn't stop clinging until we'd left.



Then, a few days later when I was visiting them at home, Monkey was running around perfectly content while I held Squeaky, but I guess I held him too long. Monkey came up to me and motioned that he wanted to get on my lap, saying "down!" I guess he wanted me to put Squeaky down. What a cutie. :)

Saturday, September 5, 2009

Firsts

The last couple of days have been full of some "firsts" for Monkey.
On Thursday he got to go to the zoo for the very first time. The first animal he got to see there was the elephant, which he was enthralled with and was very upset when we moved on. At least, until he got to see the bears (he can now growl like a bear). Then he got to see the zebras (he neighed at them while we ate lunch where he could watch them), and the giraffes (which he wasn't oo impressed by). He was getting tired by the time we saw the big cats (snow leopards, cheetahs, tigers & most of them with cubs). He didn't seem to impressed with them, but maybe they were just too much like his kitties. We also saw the apes. There was one large guy (maybe and orangutan, I didn't really find out) who was sitting by the glass and all the kids went to go look at him. He wandered off to a different portion of his cage. When Monkey got right up to the glass, the ape came up and sat right up by the glass next to him, putting his face right up to Monkey's. Monkey screamed and made me pick him up. Once he wqas safe in my arms (lol) we waved to the ape and said "bye-bye." It was a lot of fun.
Yesterday, I decided to be daring and took Monkey Ice Skating for the first time. We got the smallest pair of skates that they had, got all laced up and went out into the ice. It first I went backwards, pulling him, but then I got bored and so held him in front of me as we both glided forward. We only made it around the rink a couple of times, but each time we stepped off the ice, he quickly turned me around and stepped back on (though he never smiled). All in all, I think he had fun. Maybe it'll work a little better if i wait a couple more months before trying again (oi, it hurt my back!)

Friday, August 28, 2009

Alone Time

Recently, after months of my office stuff strewn about the basement and months (but a few fewer months) of Hubby's office being torn apart, I finally got fed up with the general mess that consumed the entire house (mostly because without my office as a repository for all the household managerial stuff, it was all over the kitchen, which then over-flowed to every other place around).
So, I've had my office 'back' for about a week now, and by back I mean that I have a corner in Hubby's office, which is now all nice and clean (there's enough space for me to vacuum the entire room decently for the first time).
Anyhow, as the now shared office is in the basement, and the basement is not babyproof I find myself with a dilemma. The problem is that I can no longer work on my computer and watch my child at the same time. Well, I suppose technically I could if I took the laptop back upstairs with me, but there are advantages to not doing so.
I discovered, the day after I got everything finished, that if I retreated from my child into the basement where I couldn't really hear his screaming anymore (sometimes you just have that kind of day) Monkey quieted down and played by himself. For long periods of time. Without me.
I was in shock, he'd never done that before. And, true to form, as long as he can see me, if my attention is on anything, or on anything other than playing with him, then his is malcontent & whiny.
So, now we have at least of few hours of alone time dispersed throughout the day. I know, I'm a bad mom to leave my 15 month old alone upstairs, but in 15 months he hasn't managed to hurt himself, so I figure I've done a decent job of baby-proofing his (rather large) play area.
We're both starting to develop some serious cabin fever though. Oi, hopefully it will soon be cool enough that we can spend a few hours during the day at a park.

Wednesday, August 5, 2009

Things I like...

Today I've been getting ready for our camping trip, still lots to do though. Monkey has been running around with his hats, he can't decide which one to wear (honestly though, I don't think he cares) but it is really cute.
Today before Hubby got home i decided I wanted to try and have dinner ready for him, in part to make up for getting home so late last night. Anyway, we had some bacon so I told him I was going to make BLT's, but when it came time to make them I decided I really wasn't in the mood for it, so after pondering on what else I could make with the bacon I settled on bacon cheese burgers. I got them all made and set out and then sat outside to wait for hubby. When he got home I looked apologetic and told him sheepishly that I decided I just wasn't in the mood to make BLT's and he looked a little down but said it was ok. Then I let him into the house (the back door leads in to the kitchen) and he saw dinner and it was all good. :)
Anyhow, while I was typing this Hubby was in the basement listening to music and singing his lungs out with it. I love listening to him sing, but he rarely does it while I'm around, so I'm sitting in the kitchen eavesdropping. :)
Anyhow, have a good week and we'll blog more later!

Wednesday, July 29, 2009

Really, are these titles necessary?

So yeah, I couldn't think of a cool title for this post.

Anyhow, just thought I'd post a quick update. Hubby is loving his new job, which is great. He works with a bunch of people who are every inch as geeky as he has always longed to be. Lol, he's usually pretty excited every day when he comes home from work, which is great.

Monkey is settling into a routine. We wake up in the mornings, each, change the diaper, play until 11, eat, play, nap, eat, play, daddy comes home, eat, play then sleep. It's just so nice that he is going down for his naps at a relatively regular time and he does it with hardly any fuss. A couple of times he has come up to me and head butts me until I ask him what he wants and he says he's tired (he does this by putting his fingers on his forehead like he has a headache, he's even started to sign 'sleep').
Unfortunately, the last couple days his ambition has gotten the better of him and he's pulled things down on him a few times. He hasn't really hurt himself yet, but man, it makes him upset.
Also, we put new batteried into his talking Elmo today (6 AA, ouch!) and Elmo came back to life as if he was on a caffeine high. It was really pretty funny. I should get rechargeable batteries for these kinds of toys....

As for me, there's not a whole lot going on. I'm trying to get back in to Hockey, the season starts up in September I think, and so I want to start going to public skates to get my feet under me, then to the stick-n-puck and powerskate sessions that the Ice Sheet has. I was acctually really excited when I found out that they have those, the Bountiful Rec center never had anything like that. I really wish I'd have know about the hockey based sessions earlier, I like to think I would have started going months ago. Ah well, I know now and so I'll start now. I just have to find a babysitter.... ;)
Lastly, my powercord on my laptop finally gave up the ghost. So, now all my computers are non functional one way or another, so I have only Hubby's computer to work on. This wouldn't be aproblem if it wasn't in the basement, or if I had the basement rganized to the point where I could bring Monkey down here, but as it is there is still a hole in the wall (I forgot I was going to fix that this week) and a general big mess everywhere. With us hoping to start moving things into storage come January, is there even any motive to organize it? ;p only the fact that I'm sick of tripping over it all.

Anyhow, till next time!

Tuesday, July 7, 2009

Monkey See, Monkey Do

I am so proud of my little Monkey! Aside from the fact that he is just sooooo much fun, it's so cool to watch him develop mentally.
This morning after his shower we were putting on some lotion and he helped me rub it in. Then, when it was time to get dressed (he was running around) I help up his shorts and told him we had to put some clothes on. He came over to me and tried to step in to his shorts as I held them up for him. Lol, of course, he didn't quite make it, he hasn't figured out that he needs to hold on to something to keep his balance, so he sat down on my lap and put his foot through. Then he carefully put his other foot through and stood up so that I could pull them up. All without me telling him too. Then, after running around for a couple minutes first, it was time to put on his shirt. I put it over his head and, again without any guidance from me, he tried to put his arms through the sleeves. I had to help him, but he knew what he needed to do. It was so cool!

On other topics, I'm stoked about camping this year. It will be so odd to go a month later than normal. This will be only the 2nd time in my life that I will be home on the 24th of July. Another thing that I am excited about though, is that my grandmother will be coming up with us. Woohoo!! We do have a dilemma, though, in that as my sister is not going we do not have a truck capable of pulling a trailer. This means that we have 1 car, one station wagon and one subaru cruck (a car with a truck bed, or maybe a truck that wishes it was a car) to take up 9 people, a week's supply of food, coolers to put it in, tents, bedding, cooking gear, clothes & general camping paraphernalia. Not good. Maybe someone can find a truck to borrow. I really don't think it would be an issue if we had a nice big truck & trailer. Nevertheless, AAAHHHHH I'm excited!!!

As for our personal businesses, they're not all up and running yet. Hubby-man has started some advertising for his and I'm still working on training for Mary Kay, though I do have my first four skin care classes scheduled for next week. I should have my inventory by Tuesday. I've been revving up for the last two weeks, hopefully once I get going I'll have some good momentum & be able to keep it.

Wednesday, June 24, 2009

Monkey Milestones

Just a quick post.
Yesterday Monkey managed to finally get onto the rocking chair by himself. He was so proud of himself and rocked and rocked and danced and rocked!
Today, when it was time to clean up his toys for bed i asked him to help me pick up his wood blacks and put them into the bag. He picked up almost all of them on his own, with me directing him to the next one and put them in the bag. He picked up only the blocks though there were legos around, too. Then, when the blocks were dont he picked up the legos. He's getting so smart!!!

Thursday, June 18, 2009

The Important things in life...

Today Monkey reached an important milestone in his life. He has now, officially, started on the path of childhood. Yes, today Monkey ate his first crust-less peanut butter and jelly sandwich.
Now, he's had PB&J before, but never his own and only bits and pieces from other's sandwiches. This one is special because he got to eat the whole thing. He had a half of one yesterday, but it didn't count because he didn't finish it. We discovered how much he liked it yesterday when he would shake his head between each bite then eagerly go back for more. Today, as he started on the final quarter of the sandwich he had to lay down between each bite, it was really cute.
He has also (about a week ago) had his first speghetti dinner that he was allowed to eat on his own, and yes, he had speghetti sauce all over his head by the end of the evening. It was great. I don't know why we didn't take a picture. Next time, Gadget....next time.

On a bit of a side note, I've started contemplaiting doing Mary Kay. I think the team that I'd be involved with would be very supportive, and I'm sure if I go at it with the right mentality I could do well with it. Any suggestions?

Tuesday, June 16, 2009

Overall Madness

So, the other day I was in the living room reading while Monkey was in his bedroom playing with his toys. Monkey really enjoys putting things on his head, he loves wearing hats of any sort. I saw him out of the corner of my eye, toddling into the living room, making all the usual noises. Slowly he started sounding a little distressed, and then more and more distressed. When I looked over I saw that he'd found some overalls and put them on his head. Then, he'd pulled them down over his head until they'd gotten stuck and was walking around with overalls upsidedown stuck on his head.
I wish I'd have noticed sooner so that I'd have had time to grab the camera before rescuing him...

Friday, June 12, 2009

Peanut Butter Cookies

So, we made some peanut butter cookies a few weeks ago and they were delicious. Just thought i'd share the recipe with y'all. So that you know, you can make these into Peanut Butter bars by backing a slab of dough and then melting some chocolate & spreading it on rather than adding the chips to the dough. (or Chocolate icing if you prefer).

"Best Peanut Butter Cookies"
Preheat oven to 350 degrees
3/4 cups unsifted flour
1/2 tsp. Baking Soda
1/2 cup margarine
1/2 cup Peanut Butter
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 large egg
1 tsp. vanilla
Optional: 1/2 cup salted Spanish Peanuts
1/2 cup Chocolate Chips

On wax paper sift together flour and baking soda. In a mixing bowl cream together margarine and peanut butter. Beat in one ingredient at a time: brown sugar, granulated sugar, egg and vanilla. Add flour and soda mixture. Mic well. Stir in peanuts and chocolate chips. Drop by heaping teaspoonfuls, 2 inches apart onto ungreased cookie sheet. Press down with fork, making a crisscross pattern. Flour fork for each cookie pressed. Four won't show after baking.
Bake in preheated oven 350' for 10 minutes or lightly browned. removes from oven and let stand about 1 minute; then remove to cool. Store in tight, covered container.

Well, hope you enjoy!

Wednesday, June 10, 2009

Bedroom vs. Office

So, since he was born Monkey has shared his Nursery with my office. Everyone said it wouldn't work out, that I'd regret leaving my office in there. And, ha! I haven't, but I did finally some to the realization last week that it was time for me to move out. So, out I moved. Monkey now has a room of his very own, and it's really pretty nice.
Now, when I'm in the kitchen and I hear a crash from the other room (not followed by crying of course) or things banging together I don't freak out and come running. I get to just grin and know that it's my Monkey messing up his room. Hahahahahaaaaa!!!
Also, since we finished setting up his room we have followed a strict rule in which he can't go to bed until all his toys are picked up (or at least not in any other part of the house). Don't be too impressed, though. It's only been 2 days. :)

Welcome!

Hidy-ho.
This is our new family update blog. Its all about rmt-ctrl, his wfe Karahatay, their son, Monkey and anything else we feel like putting up here. :)